Adjustable Implants

I recently underwent a double mastectomy and a reconstruction using adjustable implants which have to be ‘inflated’ (so weird!) I had my first inflation last week and since then my chest has been incredibly tight and my breasts feel like rocks resembling over-developed men’s pecs rather than women’s breasts. Has anyone undergone this whole process and come out the other side? I suppose I just want reassurance that I won’t have to change my name to Arnie cos at the moment I’m beginning to wonder.

Hi. This is my first time posting on the forum (although I have found help and support just reading through the forums since my diagnosis). I had a left mastectomy and reconstruction at the beginning of February and have been “pumped up” three times since so I can sympathise! I still feel very tight in the chest and, yes, I too have pecs on one side!!!

Like you, I would be interested in comments from anyone who has gone thorugh this process - does the feeling of tightness ease? I am doing the exercises suggested by my physio, which do seem to help, and my BC nurse has been great. But unless you have been through it, I think it is difficult to appreciate just how uncomfortable this can be!

Ladies,

I had a full sized implant when I had my mastectomy a few weeks ago, but had been due to have the tissue expander one until they decided they could save the skin and nipple, so had spoken to some ladies who had this, some on this site, (including DilysP who is away on hols at the moment, otherwise I’m sure she would have responded!) some on another site, and also a lady I got chatting to in chemo. They all said that the feeling was very tight during expansion, they slightly over-expand before rads, so afterwards they can drop you down a little to give a natural look. All the ladies I spoke to were very happy with the progress, so hang in there!

Good luck
Shannon