after mastectomy

Hi,
this is my first time on the site, my brother found it for me (bless). My name is Sue, I’m 27 and live in Yorkshire and had a left mastectomy and lymph nodes removed on 14th August this year. I’m due to start my first Chemo session on 12th Sept then radio, then Tamoxifen. Still a little sore and swollen (again) so off back to see the nurse tomorrow, feels like i’m growing my own!!

I have a 2 year old daughter and have just moved in with my sister, (long story), but i’m feeling quite positive about it all and just take each day as it comes.

Talk to you all soon hopefully

Sue :slight_smile:

xxx

Hi Sue

Sorry you have had to join us on this forum, but you will find some wonderful friendships and support that will help you through this horrid journey. Have to ask where abouts in Yorkshire are you, as was bought up in North Yorkshire, near Pickering, but left there back in 1985.

Good luck with your first chemo session on 12th, and try not to worry. I had my first session on 8 August and it was not half as bad as I had feared or worried about. I have not had any side effects really, just the hair loss which started last week, and I had it shaved off on Friday night. Very emotional that was I can say, but am now getting use to it. I had my 2nd chemo last week too and still no side effects. Taking all my anti sickness tablets as told and they are working. I am on FEC x 3 and Taxotere x 3 then probably Herceptin. I am 39 years old and have a daughter who will be 4 in December and a 9 month old boy. Unfortunately we had a double whammy of having been dx with bc and then told had gone to my liver as well. But we are doing OK and fighting back tenfold!!!