Anne's news: masectomy + reconstruction

Dear All,
This is my first time on this forum. I have used Macmillan in the past. I did not think I would be back as a “patient” on any forum but hey ! 3 times lucky they say…

I am 42, I had lymphoma in 1993, breast cancer in 2007 treated with small surgery and radiotherapy and now it has been confirmed today that the lump in my breast is yet another breast cancer, hormone positive this time…bad luck hey ! the only option is full masectomy and hopefully reconstructive surgery at the same time.

Early stage and not “urgent” - we are looking at end of August/September. They are also talking about tablets afterwards but not necessarely Tamexofin as there seems to be new treatement around.

I would like to hear form ladies that have undergone this type of surgery ( but not only of course, everyone’s is welcome in this maize of emotions !) re recovery time, long term effect and tips if any !

Hi croquette

Welcome to the Breast Cancer Care discussion forums. I hope you find them a great source of support and information.

Whilst you wait for the other forum users to reply with their experiences you might find it useful to have a copy of the BCC boolet ‘your operation and recovery’. It includes information on breast cancer operations and recovery times. If you would like a copy just follow this link:-

breastcancercare.org.uk/upload/pdf/your_op_and_recovery_07_web_0.pdf

I hope this helpful.

Best wishes Sam, BCC Facilitator

Thank you Sam, it is really helpful
Thanks again
Anne