Another newbie here!

Hi all,
I was diagnosed with BC just over 3 weeks ago. I had WLE and full ANC last week. Still got the flippin’ drain in but that can hopefully come out tomorrow. I have to wait now until the 13th to find out whether the surgery produced a ‘clear margin’ - think that’s right? If not it’s back for a mastectomy. If all is ok then I will start chemo and have been told 6 rounds followed by rads. Complete shock as I saw a doc in November who told me my ‘lump’ was nothing to worry about and was just due to age (I’m 50) thankfully I was concerned enough to go back to my own gp in Feb who sent me for immediate tests. I’m told it’s the most common kind and grade 2 so nowhere near as bad as some I guess. I have a feeling I will be coming here quite a bit as it’s so helpful to read the posts of others in similar situations. I am quite scred - funnily enough, not about the prognosis but about what the next few months holds fir me. Thanks for reading :slight_smile:

Sorry you have to find yourself here, but it’s good to get help and support from others. What a good thing you went back to your GP. Seems too many docs dismiss things as ‘age’.
Hope your clear margins will be clear to save you from further surgery.
I’ve just finished chemo and star rads soon. I found it really helpful to journey along with others starting chemo at a similar time. you can compare notes and support each other, so suggest you start or join a thread when the time is right.

Good luck. Stella

hi

I’m sorry you find yourself here but you are right to come on here - it’s a place to share as well as off-load.

I too had the experience of the GP not finding anything only to be diagnosed 4 weeks later.

I’m due my 5th chem tomorrow (out of 6) and then have surgery and rads to look forward to.

When you are first facing chemo it is terrifying and, although not a walk in the park, it’s not been as bad as expected.