Any horse riders out there who had LD flap reconstruction with tissue expanders?

Hi

I’m just wondering if there are any horse riders out there who have been able to continue riding after LD flap reconstruction with tissue expanding implant? I had this done 7 weeks ago. Immediate reconstruction left side. Currently I’m still unable to drive as I find it too painful to select 5th gear so I’m wondering if I’ll ever be able to get back horse riding. I have concerns that due to the missing muscle in my back I may never regain the strength. I was only riding in a riding school but would love to get back to it to take my mind off having cancer. Anyone out there riding after this operation? How long did it take for you to be able to ride again following the op? Any tips or advice for getting back to riding please?

Many thanks

Faith 50

I have no experience with your situation , but am still waiting to ride after my operation, advised at least 6 weeks. It is frustrating and I understand your angst. I hope you get back in the saddle soon there is nothing more liberating.

Hi Faith50,
I have horses and ride competitively. I had a Diep reconstruction 5 months ago. The plastic surgeon advised me not to have an LD Flap as I would be left with a permanent weakness which would affect my riding. That said, I have very little fat and not much muscle there. So, I think it depends on what you have in that area to start with. I rode all the way through chemo, had a 6 week break for the op, rode through radiotherapy. I feel my balance was affected with chemo, esp docetaxel, but it is improving. Maybe speak to the riding school you go to and see if you can have someone walking beside you initially, or maybe some lunge lessons? xx