Anyone tried Triple M chemotherapy?

Hello everyone
Have previously had FEC, Taxotere, 5FU and Navelbine and am now starting Triple M which doesn’t seem very common. Wondered if anyone else has had this treatment and how they got on with it?
Thanks a lot.
Carol2000

Hi Carol,

I am assuming the tripleM is methotrexate, mitomycin & mitozantrone. It was one you rarely hear about these days. I was on this back in 1990 when I was originally diagnosed. My dx was a large 5cm tumour IDC,
er/pr neg. Triple neg wasn’t known about then & it was some years later that they concluded I had been her2 pos all the time.

There was little information back then, no internet as we know it today so I didn’t really know what to expect. I have since had ECF epirubicin, carboplatin & 5FU (different to one in common use today - FEC), taxotere, xeloda, navelbine and currently on herceptin & pamidronate. So like you I have a lot of experience of chemotherapy. But MMM was fantastic for me - the only side effect was loss of sense of taste. Everything tasted metallic. Life went on as normal for me and I never felt unwell at any time. I do hope it works for you that way. I don’t know if they use this combi at the same strength today. I had 5 clear years on that without recurrence.

Dawn
xx

Hi Girls,

Dawn that sounded great for you…
I hope that you, Carol, get a really good result as well.

Please keep us up to date with how your getting on

Best wishes

Tess.X

Morning Dawn
Thanks for your reply. Couldn’t believe it when I read how far you’d come, and I’m so pleased to hear you’re doing so well. It gives me more confidence too, though I have a lot of questions I’m afraid so I hope you don’t mind.