Back at work, exhaustion, uncaring bosses

I was diagnosed with BC July 2006. Had FEC chemo, followed by mastectomy and radiotherapy. Treatment finished March 2007. Went back to work in May, all be it a phased return to work.(usually work 40+ hrs full time)

The month before i went back to work i had felt quite guilty about still being off. Thought i was ready to go back. But now I’m back i’ve found i’m really tired. Get days where i feel like i’ve been hit by a sledgehammer. Really tired with terrible migraines which make me feel sick and put me in bed for 2 days.

Had gradually increased my hours at work to 4 full days (9 hour days) but after a follow-up appointment with my Breast Care Nurse she suggested i cut back my hours again.I was doing too much. So back to 3 full days.

Still get tired. Asked for support from my boss since i’m a manager of a busy department and wanted someone to work opposite me on my days off. Politely got told “that won’t be happening” So still left to do a full time job over 3 days. More stressed than ever!! Help!

Just cos i’m 31. They think i should bounce back from everything. I wish!

Does this tiredness go away and when? Was beginning to think that it had came back again i was so pooped!
Anyone else find they’re employer is all to quick to forget what you’ve been through?
Thanks

Reading your post, it could have been written by me. I thought that i would finish treatment and go back to work and back to a normal life after a cancer diagnosis!!! Well, it didn’t happen like that for me. I think that we all have days where we are really tired and this lasts for quite some time. I had a really rough time of it after treatment was finished.