Coming to terms...and learning new terms...

Hi,

I was told last week I had breast cancer following a biopsy, but only told this week it is stage 3 (or was that type3??) and aggressive, but no other info really. I know my lymph nodes are affected cos I felt the lump there first…I’ve been reading posts here and realise I’m going to have to get up to speed with all the expressions, terms and abbreviations… so much to take in!!!
I’ve been offered neo-adjuvant treatment, (neo-tango) found a bit of info on other pages here, but just deciding if I should go for that, or standard surgery (mastectomy) with chemo and radiotherapy…they gave me the choice, like I would know better than the experts…heck what a decision :o(
No doubt see you all around here for quite a few months to come, take care all.

CD

Hi Crazy Dancer

Firstly sorry you are having to join us here, but rest assured there is loads of support on here from others going thro it.

I am fairly new to this too, had my first chemo on Monday. Like you I have grade 3 aggressive invasive ductal cancer. At present they hope there is no node involvement. They gave me 2 options - mastectomy, chemo, radio or chemo , hopefully lumpectomy (alltho no guarantess that mastectomy still not needed) then radio.

Like you, they said it was my decision - and they would not sway me either way. The way I saw it was there is no difference in outcome for either option i.e. no better prognosis or risk of recurrence with either option. I went for the second option - having chemo first.