Confused, do I need chemo/rads

Hi All,
Really confused, had a mastectomy 14 July, had results a week later no residual cancer, no lymph node involvement and no sign of vascular.
Went to see oncologist today and she said that if I have chemo it gives me 3% -5% more to add to the 80% I have of surviving 10-15 years, or I can have rads which will give me 3%-5% as well. She put me on tamoxifen there and then and said to think about wheither I want chemo or rads or just stick to the tamoxifen. Don’t know what to do, I have 2 young kids and I want to be here for them. I thought that a doctor was supposed to tell you what the best course of action is not give you the decision as I am not a doctor. I just want my life back even though it feels like it’s going from bad to worse as the OH is getting made redundant next week. Can’t cope with this on top of everything else.

Essie x

It’s a really tough call when you’re prognosis/numbers are that good to start with which is why I think they don’t just tell you to do it.

In my case chemo improved my chances by 12% so I was basically told “we want you to do blah”, after all my treatments my numbers go up to 82% chance of being here in 10 years time so only slightly higher than your starting point so really you need to ask yourself how you feel about it.

Maybe have a read of the chemo and rads sections of the site to see how people are coping with treatment, that might help you decide if it’s for you.

I have an incling that you’re leaning towards doing the treatments as you say you have young kids and want to be there for them, maybe hubby being made redundant next week will give him more time with the kids while you undergo treatment, I don’t know what you’re circumstances are in that way. I really seriously worried about the financial impact as both me and partner run a business together but we’re half way through chemo now and coping with it.