could do with some advice re: post op

Hi gang

I’m a bit miffed. Had surgery 2 wednesdays ago and stitches removed 21/10/09. Woke up in a pool of blood (well some!) that night and hot footed it to A and E. Well that was a big mistake as was left on a plastic chair for 3 hours with no one checking on me. However, the Doc eventually told me it as old blood, and had a good squeeze of my boob with his bare hands, using a non sterile paper towel to mop up the mess (are we in England?). It was dressed but now I have removed the dressing and it has started again!

I’m a nurse so have some knowledge. I feels that it needs to come out so have stuck a dry, absorbent and sterile! dressing on it. Being Saturaday, no BCS available and no way will I return to A and E. Does this sound like the right plan of action? I don’r have a temperature.

Julia xx

Hi,
It does sound like it needs looking at.Can you phone the ward where you had your surgery? They may be able to see you or advise you.
Good luck.
Love n hugs
Dot
x

I’ll try that. So darn tired and cant face being dragged up there tho!

Julia x

Hi, sorry to hear you are having problems. Could you maybe contact the ward you were on for the op? are they open weekends? I havent had my op yet so i dont know if its normal, i guess you would expect some leakage. That doctor sounds dreadful, it doesnt instill confidence does it? Being a nurse too i have had moments were i have thought thats not right and was too polite to say, but i am starting to tell people now when i am not happy with what they have done.
take care
anna

Spoke to on call Doc and he thinks I’ve done the right thing, just to be aware of infection.

Julia x

Hi Julia,