DCIS & Mastectomy

HI
Today I have just discovered I am to have a mastectomy, and am shocked and confused. I had a routine mammogram about a nonth ago, my first and just because I had turned 50, was recalled because of sightings of calcification in 2 areas of my right breast, and a biopsy done. I was diagnosed with DCIS and a biopsy done on the 2nd area. I went in for the results today and that too shows high grade DCIS. Because the joint areas are extensive - 4cm -one is near my nipple, the other is a distance away but quite central, they advise a complete mastectomy and sentinel node biopsy. I did question this as much as I could since I had read that the treatment for DCIS can be radical and unnecessary, however they are saying it is necessary for safety and anything less would be a “substandard” treatment. I would appreciate others views on this, it’s hard to know who to trust and what’s ok, not being a medical expert myself. Also I asked about reconstruction - previously they had suggested this could be done at the time - but the surgeon seemed against this preferring to wait until later. When I began asking about different types I was told by a nurse that the surgeon would recommend what would be best taking account of my body size and shape. I beginning to feel I won’t get a say in anything! And it’s MY body. I feel awful, and starting to look at what’s involved in reconstruction and what it may look like has made me panic more…Sorry this is getting lengthy - it’s my first time on this site and I think people who have been through the experience are probably more “expert” than the experts I’ve met today!

Would appreciate any info and reassurances on these issues!

Thanks
Lyra

Hello, Lyra

Really sorry to hear your news, but you’ve come to the right place. You will get loads of support here, someone will be able to answer your questions, and you can just say whatever you are feeling, rant, cry - whatever.