Diagnosed today at 26 years old

Hello, I’m really new to all this. I got my diagnosis today and I’m only 26 so it’s not really sunk in yet. It’s really early to have caught it although I still have a mammogram and an MRI scan to go. It’s grade 2 ducal cancer, but I don’t know much more at this stage. They’ve booked me in for a lumpectomy on the 17th April and I will have radiotherapy after that. Depending on my results from the mammogram and MRI that may be changed. I’m also going to have genetic testing because of my age and because my mum had breast cancer 3 years ago Although her cancer was post menopausal.
I think the hardest thing I’ve come to learn today is that I can’t have children so long as I’m on tamoxifen And is going to be for at least 5 years. I don’t have any children and me and my husband were going to start trying for a baby this year.
there’s a few things I’d like to know from others in this situation…how did you come to terms with the fact you have cancer? I don’t feel unwell so in a respect don’t really believe I’ve got breast cancer.
Also, has anyone had genetic testing or has anyone had genetic results show a mutated brca gene? I can’t even imagine how I will take that in if it comes back positive.

Any advice or experiences would be great hear.

thanks, Esther

Hi there Esther

Firstly welcome to the discussion forums, I am sure you will find lots of support and information here.

Whilst you’re waiting for others to come along and share their experiences, I thought you might like to order one of our Resources Packs, they’re filled with information to help you understand your diagnosis. Here’s the link to the page where it can be ordered:

http://www2.breastcancercare.org.uk/publications/diagnosed-breast-cancer/resource-pack-primary-early-breast-cancer-bcc145

Also, if you have an questions or just need to talk to someone, do call our Helpline, they’re open Weekdays 9-5 and Saturday 10-2 on 0808 800 6000.

Best wishes.

Louise, Facilitator