Disability Living Allowance

I have been told by several people that when you are undergoing chemotherapy you are automatically entitled to DLA. Is this true? Regardless of income and they just pay it straight away. It would certainly help as I think I may have to get a cleaner in. I am sooooo tired with a lot of extra washing etc owing to infections.

It’s not automatic Starfish.

I applied when on my first bout of chemo but was turned down.
My Mum happened to visit the local citizen’s advice about another matter and got chatting to a lady there about the decision. She was horrifed and said I should have asked them to help me complete the forms.

It might be worth getting some advice. I do remember it was a ridiculously long form to complete.

good luck,
Jackie

hi Starfish,
I am no expert in benefits but I do not think that this is the case at all. Other threads have indicated that some ladies have failed to be successful in their claims. I think that with secondary cancer you do qualify to receive it but that undergoing chemotherapy alone does not automatically qualify you.
Margaret

You cannot claim DLA until you have needed assistance with care and mobility for at least three months and expect this to be the case for a further 6. So for most poeple with primary BC this would not apply, whereas with secondaries you usually qualify

Hiya,

I was told when I was diagnosed with my primary breast cancer last year I was not entitled to anything but Incapacity Benefit.
I now have secondaries and was advised by cancer support that I would not get DLA unless it was applied for under the special rules…which is where your Oncologist has to sign a form (I think its a DS1500 form?) stating you have an estimated 12 months life expectancy (but the benefit is reviewed again in 3 years time)

Im sorry if this is not the answer you wanted to hear.

X X

Hi Starfish,