Feeling very nervous

Hi all

I have an appointment with the breast clinic tomorrow having visited the Drs 10 days ago about a large lump I have had for a couple of months. My breasts have always felt quite lumpy and get sore around my period so I waited till after my period to see if it went but it didn’t. Then in the time it took for me to get a Drs appt my nipple has changed in appearance in that it has gone flat as though it is thinking of inverting.

The dr agreed she could feel ‘the area’ I was concerned about and because I mentioned other symptoms such as the nipple plus a couple of months ago I had a spell of 3 or 4 days where I kept feeling a bee sting like pain on and off in the same breast she was going to refer me for tests.

I am so worried about every aspect of the appointment. I’m not good with medical things and in the past have fainted just having a blood test done! I believe mammograms can be painful anyway and as my breast feels really sore just touching the lump I am dreading how painful the mammogram will be with really firm pressure on the same place. I am obviously concerned that as the lump feels quite big (about 6cm to me) and the other symptoms too all add up to it not being something and nothing.

My mind has really gone into overdrive and gone beyond worrying about if it is cancer and also what if it is cancer but that is has spread elsewhere and cannot be treated. I have been having all kinds of horrendous thoughts and really don’t know how I’ve got through the past 10 days of worry but am paranoid that this just the beginning and there will be far worse things to worry about after tomorrow.

Sorry to waffle and I know that at the moment I don’t really have a specific concern but I just can’t get a control over my brain wandering!