Glass half full

Hi all,
I was fast approaching 43 when i was diagnosed with BC last June, had a quadrantdectomy, 2 in 11 lymph nodes involved. I’ve been happily married for 23yrs and have a son of 22 and a daughter of 21. I worked full time in finance which has always been fairly stressful.
I would’ve described myself as stressed & generally quite a negative person that often felt uptight about some drama at work, with the kids, husband & finances. :slight_smile:
Obviously when you’re diagnosed with “cancer” it knocks you for six. You never think that this sort of thing will happen to you. When 1st diagnosed I was absolutely terrified & hit with deppression.
My very wise consultant told me that being diagnosed with “cancer” and possibly having to deal with my own mortality would inevitable change your life that with some women it’s for the negative, but for others life can improve so much for the better. He also said having a positive outlook will certainly increase my odds as the mind is such a powerful tool.
This had such a profound effect on me. Yes I have learnt that the outcome of my BC is in the lap of the gods, ok so I may only have 2 years left; but on the other hand I could have 40yrs+ but whatever time I do have left I am going to enjoy every single minute of my life. Making the most of my family, friends , people and life in general.
My relationship with my husband, son & daughter has improved to the point where our home life has never been so good. And as for work, I now work 4 days per week now. I’ve even mastered switching off from work the moment I close my office door.
I have finally learnt life is to enjoy and & no longer sweat over the small stuff. Hallelujah!
My neighbours have all been wonderful ! So much so, they have all become dear friends and to say thank you, I’m just about to throw my second women only social evening for them all to say thank you.
Yes! I’m still scared and yes this could eventually kill me.