Going back for my biopsy results on Tuesday

Hello everyone

I’ve never used a forum like this before but I’ve been trying to maintain a brave face in front of my family over Christmas whilst being sick with worry…

I’m 36 years old with no family history of breast cancer, at the beginning of October I found a lump in my breast and went to the Doctor, he asked me to go through a menstrual cycle and come back in a month’s time, I went back with the lump unchanged and was referred to a Consultant. I am lucky enough to have private medical insurance and saw the Consultant within 4 days, he was completely lassies-faire about the lump and said that he was not concerned at all by it but arranged an ultrasound to be absolutely sure. He almost made me feel like I was wasting his time.

3 weeks later I had the ultrasound and the radiologist had a completely different take on the situation, he said I definitely had a lump and he immediately arranged a mammogram and biopsy… that was scary as hell as I was expecting him to be as relaxed as my Consultant. 3 days later I had the biopsy and saw the Consultant again who then told me that there is a lump and it is suspicious but until the biopsy comes back “we don’t know what we’re dealing with”, I asked him about an upcoming trip to New York in January and he suggested that I cancel it but wouldn’t really tell me much more as he wanted to see the biopsy results which are due back on Tuesday.

I’m not really sure what I’m looking for from the forum, just some help in how people who have been through similar experiences have dealt with the waiting… thanks in advance…  x

Bliss1978