Has anyone had their eggs 'harvested'?

Has anyone had their eggs ‘harvested’?

Has anyone had their eggs ‘harvested’? Hi there,

I am very new to all of this, having only been diagnosed 2 days ago. I am 34 and was planning to start a family in the not too distant future, before the terrible news scuppered my plans!

Anyway, I am having a mastectomy next week and am due to start chemo a couple of weeks later. I spoke to my consultant about my desire to start a family and my fertility concerns. He said I can certainly have my eggs ‘harvested’ (or frozen) prior to commencing chemo and I was wondering if anyone had had this done and, if so, how it was

Any advice would be very much appreciated,

Many thanks,

Princess18
-x-

For princess18 Hi princess

It may be useful for you to read the breast cancer care publication
on fertility. It might help to answer any questions you have.
I have given the link below:-

breastcancercare.org.uk/docs/fertility_issues_feb_
06_0.pdf

I hope you find this helpful

Kind regards

On-line Host
Breast cancer care

Frozen embroyos Hi there…
I was diagnosed at 27 and after my mastectomy I successfully frozen 6 embroyos. I think it is good to have a back up plan just in case chemo harms your fertility. I do feel alot better knowing I have them and the whole process of ivf was weird, but I felt like I was doing something positve to help myself so it gave me a good feeling. It can be quite uncomfortable but it is all over in a couple of weeks. I even have a picture of my embroyo on my bedroom wall!
Please feel free to ask me any questions.
Katey x

Frozen eggs Hiya

I was dx last year at 26 & after my lumpectomy, had fertility treatment to freeze my eggs (I’m single). Like Katey says its good to know that there is a back up!