help- i'm trying to be positive

hi- i’m new to this,never dun owt like this b4 and honestly dint want to b doin it now.my mums bin diagnsd wiv bc and had masctmy jus over 3 wks ago.we wnt 4 follow up appntment 2day and i was stupidly hoping that they mite give her a course tabs or sumthng, but she has to hav chemo,radiotherapy,hepcin? and then tabs.i,m trying to be strong 4 her and 4 everyone else, am despratly reading everything i can find and i,m trying to remain calm and postive. no one today gave me any positive news. we have to wait now for 2 scans to check that the cancer isnt anywer else. can anyone offer any ideas as to how to keep us all sane in the nxt couple of weeks?

Hi Dora, so sorry at your mums news - if you read thru some of the comments on here, what mum has been offerred treatment wise is perfectly normal. I am on second lot of chemo and will get radio therapy then a drug called Tamoxifen which sounds like something similar to your mum - my docs words were “you will see your grandchildren grow up” as I am 48 I am taking it that its not gonna see me off anytime soon! BC is very very treatable - its a rotten journey but I am finding it all bearable - glad mum has your support, she will need you there for her but try not to panic - please keep in touch if you need to xx

Hi Dora,

In addition to the support you have received from your fellow user you may find the BCC resources pack helpful. It has been designed for those newly diagnosed and is filled with information to help you and your Mum better understand her diagnosis, test results and the various treatments available. If you would like to order a copy just follow the link below:-

breastcancercare.org.uk/server/show/nav.718/changeTemplate/PublicationDisplay/publicationId/82

Our helpline is open 9am-5pm weekdays and 9am-2pm on Saturdays, please call if you feel it would help to talk your concerns through with someone in confidence on 0808 800 6000.

Best wishes
Lucy

hi dora,