Hi I am a newbee who found a lump nearly 2 wks ago

Hi I am new to all this; I found a lump on my left breast two weeks ago, went straight to the doctors a.s.a.p & have been referred to Glenfield hospital. My appointment is for this Tues. I am so worried, like everyone I suppose I think the worse; have been so negative. It makes matters worse as I am 4 weeks into a new job, so having to take time off, and tell the boss why I need to! Its not good.
My husband, we have been married 19 years is so with me; he is cumin to the appointment. My kids are also aware, although as teenagers are don’t say much!
I know that you shouldn’t think the worse, but I feel so tired, my left arm aches; as does the left boob, I have no energy, and it looks slightly bruised.
Please give me some support as I am so worried, and anxious for my kids n Dave xxx Emma

The ladies on this site will support you lots while you are going through this. Firstly you did the right thing in going to the doctor and being referred. The waiting is always the worst but first things first.

Try not to worry and this is really hard - as soon as you start to think the worst divert yourself - chat to hubby or kids or just go for a walk or something to take your mind off it. There is no use worrying even IF something is not right. You dont know yet if there is anything to worry about. Do be very positive about the diversion tactics as they do work and it stops you getting into a state about it all.

There is not much you can do until you get a diagnosis and IF you get a diagnosis and if its not the outcome you want there is lots of help and treatment. I was lucky as I had a routine screening and it was found.

Please talk to people about it and find out from BCC publications what questions you can take with you to ask the doctors. Write them all down and ask hubby to listen carefully as it will be such a whirl for you.

Take care and good luck.