I want off this blasted rollercoaster!

Hi, I’m a newbie who is scared out of her wits. I was diagnosed with IDC, grade 3 two weeks ago - a diagnosis that totally floored me. I don’t smoke, hardly drink alcohol, only recently stopped running and I eat relatively healthy - what the heck happened?

After the original diagnosis we then spent a week in purgatory waiting to see if the “git” as we call it had spread - luckily it hadn’t. However, we still don’t know about any node involvement as I am waiting for my Sentinel Node op (cheese louise - these are words I’d never heard of two weeks ago). I am 43 years old with two kids, 17 and 11 both of whom have taken the news fantastically well - too well! My DS17 is about to take his AS Levels in January, what carp timing for him. My DD11 is convinced it will be 8-12 months of “horrible medicine” but then I should “look on the brightside” as I will be feeling much better and ready to go on holiday!! Oh, I wish I had her positive outlook.