love my glove (& sleeve, & corset thingy)

post deleted

Im due to have my lymph nodes removed soon oh my god do we have to wear these grizly things for ever i feel darn sick now?

Hi Norberte

Good idea for a thread. I hadn’t thought of putting them in the fridge and I will definitely try that when it’s warm. Only problem is I don’t enough of the things.

My lymph nurse said some women opt to keep one for best. Makes sense to me as I have one that I’ve been using for only a few months and it looks terribly shabby already.
I think I’ll have to plead for another one on the NHS so I can keep a spare in the fridge!

Hatty - you only need to wear a sleeve if you have lymphodema and if its prescribed. Not every woman who has lymph nodes removed gets it, I think about 75% don’t.
As mine is well controlled and mild, I am having trial days without a sleeve. To be honest though, strange as it sounds, my arm is more comfortable with the sleeve now so I’ll probably forego the sleeve on special occasions or evenings out.

Hi Hatty,the garments are for people who have lymphoedema.So no need to panic :slight_smile: you won’t have to wear them unless you develop lymphoedema.You will probably be given information about how to help prevent it after you opp, I did do what they said but still got it lol.I have read that the average rate of getting lymphoedema without regional radiotherapy was 3% and the average risk with regional radiotherapy is 12%.

Thanks for the tip about putting sleeve in the fridge norberte :slight_smile:
I ripped my sleeve off at work yesterday in a frenzy.I was having a massive hot flush.I got some strange looks lol.

Melxx

sorry it takes me sooo long to write my posts.I have repeated what others have said :slight_smile:

Melxx