lymphodema gang - I need your advice please!

hi all

I’d like your thoughts on this if you have time please.

I’ve been wearing the same type of sleeve for about 9 months now. About 4 weeks ago I got two new ones which seemed okay but a bit tighter around the hand/thumb which I expected until they stretched with wear.

The other day I was feeling very tired, and spent quite a bit of time just resting and reading. By the hand of the day, my sleeve was digging in a lot at the top of the arm, around the thumb and the bit between the thumb and index finger. I took it off.

I now have a small lump at the base of my index finger and its painful to bend my thumb. Tried to get hold of the lymphodema nurse on Thursday but she’s not back until Monday (she works on her own).

I’m worried now it might be a small blood clot. I had these in my other arm during chemo so I’m probably a bit prone to them. Also on tamoxifen.

Has anyone had anything similar? What else could it be? Elinda x

Not part of the gang, but if you think you have the possibility of a clot, I would go to A&E or call duty doc to get it checked… probably ASAP… can you phone your cancer centre’s advice line?

Hi GIJane, thanks for responding.

I feel that’s out of the question as its absolutely miles away and I have no transport and its the weekend so I’ll be sent from pillar to post. I think I’ll ring my GP Monday if it hasn’t resolved. If it gets worse I’ll go to A&E.

Last time my GP sent me to the hospital where I waited 4 hours to be seen and then was told I needed an ultrasound but they couldn’t do it that day. I had multiple clots in my arm and was undergoing chemo but there wasn’t that sense of urgency from the hospital you might expect.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complacent at all but just have some idea of what to expect. Elinda x

OK… keep an eye on it though… any changes - do something!! (even if it does take hours!) take care of yourself - as the adverts go “you’re worth it” !!!

Hi elinda,