MRI Results This Afternoon

Hi Everyone

I am a Newbie to this Group and I am still trying to process what is happening at the moment but can’t fault the speed or the care.  First ever Mammogram on 9th of June as part of ‘The X Trial’.  Got a recall last Wednesday and I went to the appointment on my own as the lady that did my mammogram explained that I may be recalled as it was my first one and they sometime have difficulty establishing a baseline.  I wasn’t overly worried but wasn’t  expecting to be told they found a shadow on my left breast.  This was then followed by an examination, ultrasound and two biopsies all on Wednesday morning. I went on Friday to get the results and was told I have two areas of cancer - one is 10mm and the other is 14mm but in different quadrants of the breast.  I had an MRI on Tuesday this week and I am back this afternoon for the results and hopefully to be told which surgery is best for me.  I have a list of questions as long as my arm so I hope to get them answered later today.  All I can say is that someone is looking out for me somewhere because if I hadn’t been selected at random in this trial it would’ve been another two years before my first mammogram at 50 so I am counting my blessings - but still perplexed by it all. 

Hi Fiona,

I know it’s all a bit of a shock isn’t it. I went for my hospital appointment thinking I would be told I’d got blocked milk ducts again, only to have a mammogram, scan and a biopsy and was at the hospital for three and a half hours. I’ve got to have another biopsy tomorrow just to check before they operate as I’ve got a lump and apparently that’s quite rare with DCIS, which is what I’ve been diagnosed with at the moment. More waiting for results!

Hope your apointment goes well today. Thinking of you xx