Mum has secondary cancer - I need your help

Dear all
I am a newbie to this forum and would really appreciate your help.
My mum was diagnosed with breast cancer two years and 5 months ago. After chemo and radiotherapy we were looking forward to “life after cancer” then she started to get back pain and a secondary tumour has been found on her spine.
Now I realise how much she has kept to herself, she mentions being in agony with back pain that I thought was no more than an ache. It breaks my heart to think she had a feeling the cancer was back but hid it from us, or didn’t give us all the facts.
Even now I am not sure she has told me the full details and wonder if you guys can help.
Having read some of the other threads I am guessing that secondary cancer is the breast cancer but in another place. She is having five radiotherapy sessions to control the tumour - does this mean it’s inoperable because of where it is? Has anyone else been through this who can give me some idea of what will happen next? I can’t bring myself to ask her what happens next just yet. Any advice, thoughts, experiences would be so very much appreciated.x

Hi Vicki - Sorry to hear about your mum. I’m a bit of a newbie to all of this myself but will try to help you. I was diagnosed with breast cancer and secondary cancer to my spine and ribs all in one go just before Xmas when I thought I simply had a very bad back. Because of the fact that the cancer had already spread to my bones I was told that surgery on the breast tumour was not an option, although I guess what you are asking is if surgery would be an option on her spine.