Nearly finished radiotherapy and starting to worry!

I think this may sound bonkers, but having had WLE, TAC chemo and 3 out of 4 weeks of radiotherapy I’m starting to feel nervous about what life will be like when it’s all finished.
At the moment I get seen every day at the hospital and I feel that something positive is being done to protect me against the cancer - how do you come to terms with no more treatment, no more kind staff looking after you and friends/family saying you can ‘get back to normal’? I don’t feel like I’ll ever be back to how I was!
I know I should be jumping for joy but I feel more scared and vulnerable than ever.

Hello there

It’s a well known fact that there is a transitional period to go through when active treatment finishes. It isn’t unusual to feel the way you are feeling.

I am no expert on this but I am sure others will be along soon to chip in their thoughts and advice.

You could always ring the helpline on here, I am told they are very good although I have never used them.

I am still in active treatment, chemo finished last week but I have surgery this month and then 3 weeks of rads.

Do keep coming back here and let us know how you are getting on - we will still be here to support you.

Dear Starlight67

As Supertrouper says, it is not unusual to be feeling the way you are and Breast Cancer Care recognise this and have produced a range of publications to help with moving on from active treatment for breast cancer, they have called it Moving Forward. Below is a link which will take you to a page with all our rescources dedicated to this next stage. And of course, the helpline are there to help you as well.

www2.breastcancercare.org.uk/publications/moving-forward

with best wishes
Poppy