New here and very scared

Hi. This is my first time on here. I have just been referred to my local hospital for a consultation and possible mamogram/ultrasound next Wednesday after visiting my doctor this morning. I have had a strange itching and scab just below my areola for a while but thought nothing of it and then last night I was watching a program on chanel 4 about examining your breasts and I followed the instructions and found a small pea sized lump. Im really worried, surely the doc must be to as my referrel is so soon, also my Nan died last year of secondary liver cancer (started in her bowel) as did her brother a few years before. As you can see by my user name, I have two little boys, one of 2 and one of 4 months (breastfed first one for a year and the second rejected it at 6 weeks), I thought feeding was supposed to help prevent problems? Im only 31 too so quite young for all of this. Im so scared for my boys. I have been looking for info on skin changes but cant find much, it all seems to be about the skin on the nipple but mine isnt near the nipple so really confused.

Sorry to ramble, just wondered if anyone had any useful info they can give me?

Thanks

Sheri xxx

Im new here too,looking for advice on how best to help a friend who has just been diagnosed. Im also very scared and worried about her. I have read through a lot of the comments on this forum and Im starting to feel a bit better- there is a hell of a lot of support out there.Be brave and be positive and I send you an enormous hug.
Manda x

Hi Sheri