New to all of this

Hi there,

I am new to all of this and have never posted on a forum before, but somebody suggested joining to help get things off my chest and to gain support and knowledge from others in my situation so thought I would give it a go.

I am 29 years old and on the 10th January I was told that I had an Invasive Lobular Carcinoma in my right breast and that the only way to treat it was to have my breast removed followed by chemotherapy and maybe radiotherapy to.

My diagnosis was prompted by me finding a lump in my breast shortly after miscarrying our first child at 20 wks. I had just come to terms with losing my baby when I was hit with this news and just couldn’t believe it when I heard the words coming out of the consultants mouth. Why is all this happening to me I asked myself? What have I done to deserve this in life?

Since my diagnosis I have taken on the attitude that I need to stay strong and positive. It is what it is and I just have to deal with each day as it comes and get through all the treatment in order to enjoy the rest of my life.

I have decided with the help of my consultant to have a mastectomy with an immediate reconstruction using tissue from my tummy. Has anybody else here had this operation and can you possibly tell me about your experience please? I have attended my local Breast Reconstruction awareness meeting and have spoken to a couple of older ladies regarding this procedure but not anybody closer to my own age. I would just be grateful for all the knowledge from others that I can retain.