New to the idea of forums and blogs

Hi I am new to the idea of forums etc and have found it difficult to join in. But i was diagnosed on Mon with early breast cancer through the screening program. Although i have lots of support from freinds and family i feel shattered how do you all manage to keep up your strength what about the nightime any ideas of how to get through the long nights and keep dignified and composed for the sake of Your famillY

Hi Poppy

Sorry to hear of your new diagnosis but you have come to the right place … the ladies on here are fabulous and have helped me through when I have been really low. I was diagnosed in December from just routine screening … my first thoughts were of disbelief and fear. I had my surgery last Thursday after having many other tests … eg MRI scan and radioactive injection, and I must say I do feel a little more optimistic this week. I did not think I would be able to cope with everything and I absolutely hate hospitals but I got through it and if I can anyone can! You will get lots of support on here and do let me know how you go on
Kind regards
Suzy

Hi Poppy,
sorry to read of your diagnosis but welcome to the forum, and I hope you will find it a helpful place to visit - to lurk, to post, whatever works for you. As you may have spotted already, we are a mixed bunch, at various stages on various journeys, and on the whole we are great at supporting one another. You will find what works for you in terms of forum participation, so please don’t let that side of things worry you at all.

It’s hardly surprising you feel shattered at the moment, your poor mind will be in turmoil and you have not had time to process the news, let alone begin to work out how to respond to other people. A lot of poeple find the first week or two they hardly sleep, and I for one was prescribed sleeping pills for a week soon after my diagnosis. Ask your GP or breast doctor if you think this might help.