newly diagnosed and stunned

Hello,
I have read a few entries and this seems like such a great place to get support. I was diagnosed on monday and am waiting to see whether my mastectomy will be next week or week after. I am mostly, incredulous. I tick ‘no’ to all the high risk categories for breast cancer. I breast fed my three children, all under 10, for a year each. I am a fitness instructor who leads a very healthy life. At 40 I cannot believe this has happened to me. I am a small B cup and foolishly have not checked myself regularly. It was pure chance that led me to the lump. Do you think numbing the shock with wine is good idea!!!
Liane

Hi Liane

Welcome to our forums, I am sure you will find them a great help and get lots of support here. I’m just posting now to let you know of a few things you might find useful.
breastcancercare.org.uk/docs/bcu06_web_0.pdf

is a booklet for people who are just diagnosed and will give you some idea of what to expect.

You will also find the details for our telephone helpline in there. this service is run by expert nurses and can help you talk through any worries you have at the moment.

All the best

Louise

Breast Cancer Care

Hi Liane

It’s one huge shock to the system when you are diagnosed. Everything seems so unreal, too much to take in and you really don’t want to take it in. As time goes by though you will find you adjust. There is plenty of information on this site - and do order the publications, they really are useful. Support wise there are a lot of lovely people that use the forums and will be there to listen. Most are people that know exactly how you feel, they have been there too.
have a hug

x x x

Hi Liane