newly diagnosed and utterly terrified

Hi all

Well I’m in a terrible state. Was diagnosed with IDC on 8/9/09. I had mammogram for a lump in June 2008 which was a cyst. I noticed the “cyst” was growing a few months ago and GP tried to aspirated it, with no result. Went back for scan and the rest is as above. Have at least one axilla node but one was apsirated on 11/9/09, the same day my decree absolute decided to arrive. I work as a nurse and a little knowledge is a very bad thing!! Of course, I have managed to convince myself it has spread and I will die.

I have had such an awful two years, what with ex’s infidelity and the pain of divorce. Was just daring to be hopeful for the future, have met a lovely guy and have got the house in the divorce settlement. Finacially, my back is against the wall and i am going to really struggle.

I know this all sounds very depressing and negative but its how I feel!!

I would love to hear from anyone in a similar situation, or those who understand (i’m sure there are loads of you!)I must say, I do have wonderful support but its from people who dont really understand.

by the way, call me Julia!!

Hi Julia,
Just saw your post and wanted to offer a cyber hug and words of support.
It’s such a shock when you’re first diagnosed and suddnely propelled in an unknown direction. Be kind to yourself and just try and take it day by day. I always find that once a treatment plan is in place and you have more of an idea of what is to be happening that it is easier to come to terms with things. The unknown is horrible as our mind can do all sorts of things! I am still learning how to take things as they come and not think too far ahead and then it’s amazing to look back and realise time has gone on faster than you imagined and you’re still doing ok!