Newly Diagnosed with lung mets

Hi all, I’m a newbie to the secondary boards, so a quick intro.

I was diagnosed with stage 3, grade 3, ER+ breast cancer a year ago. Had a mastectomy, 3 FEC, 3 Tax and 15 rads, started tamoxifen.

At the time of diagnosis a few things showed up on my CT scan, including some tiny spots on my lungs, too small to analyse. Turns out, one year on, that these spots have grown and I have 3 areas of mets on my lungs. Tamoxifen stopped, started Xeloda last Friday.

I thought my Onc was going to cry when he told me, although he said it was treatable, like diabetes. My BCN has insisted I’m not dying, that she would tell me if I was.

At the same time though, I’ve been told to apply for DLA under the special rules, to claim under the terminal illness clause on my life assurance policy. The Macmillen nurse I’ve spoken to made me cry talking about creating a memory box for my little boy.

So to get to the point, I know no-one can tell me how long I’ve got, but I’d just love to hear some good news stories from those who’ve been going through this. I’m trying hard to stay positive. It’s still all so fresh and I just don’t know what to think. Can anyone give me a little boost, please?