Night Duty Work link with Breast Cancer?

Hi just wondered if anyone can share any info on the link between breast cancer and night work.

I have read alot in the papers and internet ( not always useful i know!!) I returned to work NHS nurse rotational shifts in oct 2008 i did part time for a bit then full time but then went back to 30 hrs did not do nights but i am now expected to start doing nights. I am working full time which is quite tiring and i am concerned that by working nights may not be good , and may increase my risk of bc returning.

Any advice or similar situations

thanks
Sarah66 x

I’d read about this ages ago and I can’t remember where it was from. I’m a nurse too, but work 2 nights a week and at the moment have pushed it to the back of my mind as I like my nights and hate the thought of doing days.

I too read this article a while ago and cannot remember for the life of me where i saw it. 2009 from Jan- Sept i did nights to allow for my son to do nursery. I do wonder if this exacerbated my situation.

Louise

I worked 24 years on nights in a nursing home while bringing up my kids, mostly full time. After being diagnosed with breast cancer last year I dropped down to 20 hours a week, still on nights when returning to work.
Not too sure about the link between working nights and breast cancer though, as I know lots of women that worked nights and seem ok at the moment.
Also I have some relatives that had breast cancer so mine could be in the genes.

I’ve read that decreased levels of melatonin are associated with bc.

Melatonin is naturally produced after about 3 hours of sleep, shift/night work sleep patterens intefere with the production of it.

It can be supplemented with pills, but not allowed to be sold in the uk.