Paget's? Advice appreciated please.

Hello
Another worried newbie here & apologies in advance for the long post! A month ago I had a cyst aspirated from my right breast. Just before I saw the registrar at the breast clinic about this, the nipple of the same breast became very itchy and a dry/cracked patch suddenly appeared on the areola. The dry patch had come & gone by itself for a few months although the itching & cracked skin were new. The registrar had zero communication skills & left me worried sick that I have Paget’s although I have discovered today that she wrote to my GP saying it could be eczema (which is what I’ve been trying to reassure myself that it is all along).

After using high-strength hydrocortisone and anti-fungal creams for a few weeks the patch on the areola has cleared but I am still worried because the nipple looks like it has a kind of “shell” over most of it & seems mis-shapen. My husband also commented on how much more prominent the veins are on that breast.

I have a follow-up appointment next week when I will also get the results of the mammogram I had done just before the cyst was drained. I’m assuming that was clear as I hope I’d have heard if it wasn’t. I have already phoned the consultant’s secretary to ask that I do NOT see the same registrar but what I would like advice about please is: would you ask for biopsies to be done? The registrar mentioned a punch biopsy if the dry patch was still there but as it’s not, what would you do given the symptoms above?

Thanks in advance.
Margaret

Hi freckle48

Weclome to the Breast Cancer Care forums, I hope you will find them a great source of support and information.