Pain and sticky tape

Hi

This is my first time on the Forum and looking back at previous messages has been really helpful - don’t know why I didn’t join before! It’s 2 weeks today I had a WLE with Sentinel node biopsy for Stage 2 lump. I was told what to expect, numbness etc but finding the pain in armpit quite unbearable at times - does it ever go? Also I’ve had a bad reaction to the sticky plaster, even the ones covering my stitches. Lots of sores and blisters - has anyone experienced the same? Had my results last Friday and VERY relieved to find it hasn’t spread to lymphs but the dreaded thing was a Stage 3. Now waiting for appt with Onco to discuss further treatment, already on Letrozole (flushes & sweats a nightmare) so not sure what the next step will be. What I would give for a good nights sleep! Any suggestions would be gratefully received.

Hi,
I have always been allergic to sticky plaster and they’ve used micropore tape instead. I’d have thought that the plaster is doing more harm than good. Why not cover the stitches with lint and micropore tape? Or better still go and see your practise nurse for advice.
Hope things go well at your appointment.
Regard
Kelley

Hi Kelley

Thanks, I hadn’t thought about micropore. I’ve never had a reaction in the past so it came as a bit of a surprise so I’ll either be down to Boots or at the surgery tomorrow. I haven’t had my appointment date yet but thanks for your thoughts.

Regards
Debbie

I would suggest going to the practice nurse and asking for non-adhesive dressings and tape - you may go through quite a few of them and they can soon end up costing a fortune. Shame that you’ve had this reaction and are having to deal with the blisters as well as the wound.