Please offer advice if you can - mum recently diagnosed with secondary bone mets

Hello there,

I’m completely new to all this, but thought I’d give it a go as my mum is a bit of a technophobe!  I suppose I want us to understand what this recent diagnosis means, how I can help her and kind of roughly what to expect. So, this post might be kind of long, but I want to give you as much info as poss, so hopefully you can give me the best advice.

My mum is 63. She is married to my dad (65). She was diagnosed with breast cancer last month, had a her left breast and lymph glands removed (of which 16 out of 18 were cancerous). Then the Doctors said they had seen a couple ‘spots’ on a CT scan, potentially in her bones. So, she had another MRI scan and last week it was confirmed it has spread to her spine, 3 ribs and her pelvis. It has all snowballed very quickly from being curable to suddenly being life-limiting.

At the moment you wouldn’t know there is anything wrong with my mum, which kind of makes it all the more heartbreaking. 

She has been given Letrozole to take - that’s all. No bisphosphonate at this stage. I guess one of my first questions is does this sound right or should she be also on a Zometa (or equivalent) injection too?

To be honest, I feel as if I’m on a very steep learning curve with all this. My mum will just accept whatever she is told, whereas I want to make sure they’re giving her the same treatent they would the Queen!!! Which is why I’m hoping someone more familiar with all this will be able to help :wink:

I guess the other niggling worry is - how long do you think we’re looking at?! How long before she’s physically affected by the bone mets (apparently at the moment the hard outer  bit of her bones aen’t showing any signs) I guess no one can answer that hey?! It will depend how she respond to he drugs and stuff. I just thought  I’d throw it out there in case :wink: