Qu about tissue expander

I’m due to see my surgeon on 7th August and discuss surgery/reconstruction. I’m having a double mastectomy. I am a 34C and the nurse said I would be a good candidate for a tissue expander followed by implants about 3 to 6 months later. Although I think I would prefer a reconstruction, I don’t want to assume that I need to have one and am trying to weigh up all the pros and cons in the meantime.

I’ve been shown pictures of what the eventual results (with implants) look like but what does it look like during the 3 to 6 months before you get to that stage? I’ve got this idea in my head that I’ll start off completely flat-chested then gradually expand, over-expand (will this look odd?) and then the implant operation. During that wait for the implant operation, what do you or can you wear to “top up” your lack of boobs in the meantime? Do the hospital supply you with anything or is there anything that you can buy or do you just have to make do without something there until the whole procedure is complete?

Also, do they aim to get you the same cup size that you were before or are there medical reasons for maybe doing you a different size? Will you know before-hand?

I know I’ll get to ask on 7th August about all these questions but that seems a long way off and I’m trying to weigh things up now.

THanks in advance!

Nicola

I had tissue expanders put in both times. They put 100mls in at the time of the op and went back every 2 weeks for another 100mls each time. They soon go up and every time I went I got a little excited to see it getting more realistic, although a bit high.
They give you a “softie” in the hospital which is a pad filled with some kind of padding, which as I got bigger took some of the padding out. I am now booked in for the silicone implants for September.
They have asked me what size I want to be, saying now is the chance if I want o go bigger, but I’ll be happy with a B cup.

Good luck

Kx