Rock hard boob

Now at the age of 40 you would think I would be delighted to have a very firm boobie once again … but this thing seriously is rock hard! Within weeks after surgery I developed a very large and very hard lump behind my scar - this was checked by BCnurse and she assured me it was perfectly normal and nothing to worry about. I also had tightening and chording from in my armpit, down my arm and down the side of my chest. I’m not overly concerned about this current tightening and hardening as I’m sure it is the rads irritating the scar tissue (I’ve had previous lung surgery on that side so had a fair amount of scar tissue in there anyways) but it’s just sooo annoying.

Hi again

I am no expert but from what you describe, it does sound like inflammation and probably a collection of tissue fluid in response to the rads. I have only had 5 lots of rads and already my boob feels a lot hotter than the normal one and is a lot harder especially around my scar. If you have had previous surgery, there will be tons of scar tissue that will all respond to rads. Its serious stuff, this radiotherapy even though it doesn’t feel like much at the time. each time I have a session, I feel shivery and flu like which is the inflammation bit. Have you tried putting some cool clothes on your boob to see if that helps?

As I said I am not actually worried about it … just thought I would add it to the list of things. Prior to the rads I had a week of intense physio and part of it included the physio woman stretching my side… it was wonderful at the time and she showed me how I could do it myself at home … but she did say that during rads it was a big no-no as it could cause more damage to the skin in it’s delicate state. Now given that I am resembling cock robin at the moment I am not about to go aggrivating the situation further!

I’m sure it will sort itself out in time … and as the medical lot keep saying it’s ‘perfectly normal, nothing to worry about’