Scan, Mammogram and Biopsy next week....

Hi, I am new to this and I am wondering if any of you have had a similar experience to mine?
I first went to the GP approx 2 years ago with a sore left breast, much more tender than the right, he examined me and said it was fine, about a year ago i went to the GP again as my breast still felt sore and had a dragging feeling in it, i could not feel a lump and neither could the doctor, I had been having different kinds of things done at the gynocologist for several years as I had the first stage changes in my cervix so the GP said this would effect my breasts and make them sore as my hormones were all over the place.
Before Xmas I went to the doctor for the 3rd time and said I would like a 2nd opinion as I had a nagging in my head about leaving this, he examined me, could find no lump but said he would refer me, I went to the hospital yesterday and they consultant I saw was actually a breast surgeon, he examined me and found a lump, he tried to put my mind at rest by saying it could be fibroids but he has me going back next week for a biopsy, scan and mammogram.
I am worried because if it is anything bad it has been going on for 2 years and also the poster in the consultants room read “if you suspect cancer dont forget the 2 week rule” basically reminding the consultants to have the checks done within 2 weeks which he has done with me.
My breast is not what I would call very painful, it is very tender and sore.
Does anyone have a similar story to mine?
Apparantly I will have to wait a further 2 weeks after next weeks checks, I am sure I am going to be a nervous wreck!
I do have fibroids in the womb, a rather large one which is 8cm which I have only found out about in the last few weeks, I am due to see the gynacologist on Feb 7th, I have also been bleeding almost non stop for the past 7 months, thought I would mention this as it is all linked maybe?
Thanks for listening and sorry about the very long first post x