Scared, waiting and worrying...

Hi everyone,
I wonder if i may share my short story with you, I hope someone can help me.
I am a 36 year old married nurse with two small daughters. Last week I was playing with the girls when i noticed a small smooth oval shaped lump in my right breast just above the nipple. It is tender but not painful and my period is due in 5 days.
I went straight to see the GP and took my mum, as at the moment i am an emotional mess helping to nurse my best friend of 20 years who is 35 and dying from end stage liver cancer.
The GP was young and briefly checked my breasts and lymph, she said they seemed ‘ok’ and thats she thought the lump was probably a breast cyst but she would do a fast track referal for a needle biopsy and check.
My referal came through quickly and i am due to go in this Wednesday Sept 22nd.
I know that as a nurse I should be more pragmatic and rational but after nursing my best friend and watching her fade away and have to say a slow painful goodbye to her 2 year old I cannot help but be terrified that the same will happen to me.
I am a bowel nurse and know very little about breast cancer, what I find on the internet scares me so much. My husband is away with work for the next few days and i feel very alone and very scared.
If anyone has a moment to get in touch I would be so grateful. I wish you all love and luck xxxx

Hi

It is awful having to wait and worry. You have done the right thing and got the lump checked quickly and I am pleased you have an appointment soon. It is pointless saying try not to worry, but please remember that most lumps turn out to to be benign. I can understand that your friends situation is making you more anxious, but be kind to yourself and do what you need to to get through to your appointment. I wish you well with your results and hope the time passes quickly for you. Dx

Hi there
You have come to the right place for support and a good chance to ‘let it all out’