Scottish Referral Guidelines for Suspected Cancer

Scottish Referral Guidelines for Suspected Cancer

Scottish Referral Guidelines for Suspected Cancer I wish to inform all the women who have given me support or been following my postings that I have just, this week, heard from the Scottish Executive that the new Scottish Referral Guidelines have now been completed and include “unilateral axillary lymph node (my symptoms) and will be implemented shortly.

I have been campaigning for the last two years to make sure that GPs refer women with lumps under their armpit in light of what has happened to me at GP level – refused further investigation (3 times) on the grounds that there was nothing for me to worry about, only to find eventually that I had localised advanced invasive lobular cancer. This was 4 years after my first consultation with concerns.

This should be of great benefit to all women who are suspicious of unusual developments in this area of their body and subsequently present armpit swelling, thickening and lumps to their GP.

cancerinscotland.scot.nhs.uk/index.htm
then Reports and publications
Reports and guidelines
Scottish Referral Guidelines for Suspected Cancer (2007)

Thanks to all who have encouraged me.

Kind regards.

Jeannie

Well done Jeannie, 10 out of 10 and congratulations on shifting immovable bureaucratic mindless mindset!
Wish I had the go to do likewise for bonescans as soon as BC mets appear, best wishes, dilly

Congratulations Well done Jeanne…dogged determination and campaigning pays off. Her’s hoping that the new guidleines will mean fewer women get mistreated as you were.

best wishes

Jane