So worried about biopsy results tomorrow

Hi, waiting for biopsy results from calcifications found in one breast and a lump in the other. Is there any way there could be any other reason for these other than cancer? My mother died many years ago at a young age of breast cancer, so all i am doing is thinking the worst. Every hour that goes by, I am getting more scared.How do you get through these hours of waiting? Also, can anyone tell me when I can take dressings of breasts - had biopsys done yesterday, the plaster is itching a bit now.thanks to anyone who has some advice.

Hi SOSOS,

It’s horrible waiting for results isn’t it? I’m no expert but calcifications can be benign as well as malignant. Mine were malignant but there were quite a lot of them as well as all the cancer. As far as the dressing is concerned you could try replacing what’s on there currently with a hypo allergenic one instead. I just don’t get on with sticking plaster at all, so I used a basic dressing pad from a first aid kit and stuck it down with micropore tape.

I won’t tell you not to worry about the results because you will, it’s only natural especially having lost your mum to BC! For me personally the best way of coping during the day was to be as busy as possible. It didn’t make the fear go away but distraction therapy definitely helped.

How are you sleeping? I got the the stage where I couldn’t sleep at all so I asked my GP for some mild sleeping pills and they really helped.

I hope you don’t have to wait long for your results!

Nymeria x

Sounds like how I started - but don’t forget that women who have had similar initial signs like you and got the allclear won’t be posting on here - so please also remember all those women who have a terrible week of worries then got the all clear - just realised I’ve said the same thing twice, but I really mean it!

Positive spin re the calcification is that if it is BC at least they’ve found it and can treat it.