Stopping Herceptin after 10 years stable...

After being stable for 10 years on Herceptin with secondaries in the Sternum, my Oncologist has now suggested I stop treatment all together. This terrifies me as there has been no severe side effects, ie, heart problems, so I can’t see any advantage to me by stopping. Is there anyone in a similar position? Not sure if they can just refuse me treatment or not.

Hi I’ve just started herceptain and perjeta so I’m new to all this. I have read a few posts on an American site where people have stopped and done ok. I would be like you if it was working I’d rather keep taking it. Have you asked if you would be able to go back on once you come off ? Best wishes Julie X X 

Thank you for your replies Julie and Lynn.  Julie, I wish you all the luck in the world, apparently Herceptin and perjeta are an excellent combination drug. Lynn,  your treatment sounds extremely positive. I have just had another ct scan and heart scan and everything is still clear, apparently the tumour in the sternum now just looks like scar tissue. I know I’m very lucky but am very apprehensive about coming off a drug that has kept me alive for 10 years. I realise I’m going to have to talk in more detail about this with my oncology team and I will let you know how that goes xxxxx

Thank-you hope all goes well and tell the oncologist how you feel maybe ask for a second opinion somewhere X X