The langauge we use

Hi ladies,

I have just picked up two issues relating to the same topic, one of which I am guilty. Firstly I am not sure whether this issue should be posted here or on ‘Newly diagnosed’.

So whats the issue?
When I first started to use this forum about six weeks ago I encountered really good support from really experienced people. I felt really welcomed but I had to encounter a whole new language of abbreviations such as Dx’d, OH, LOL, mets DLC etc etc.
I recently typed DX’d and Denie was correct in asking what it meant. I have just seen a posting asking what mets meant.

I am not suggesting that we abandon the abbreviations, hey I am just getting into this stuff, I am just wondering if we can begin a thread to contribute to, a sort of ‘Glossary of Terms’ if you like. (is someone going to tell me there is already one somewhere, I don’t look properly half the time?).

So here goes, I’ll add the first.- Thanks folks

Dx’d - diagnosed

I think that is a very good idea, as I dont know what they mean half the time.
Madeline

Hi ladies,
Yes it does mean you have to learn a foreign language when you join the gang.

If you check out this link:

breastcancercare.org.uk/content.php?page_id=45

you will find leaflets and a folder available free - many of the terms are explained clearly.

Good Luck
Maddy xxxx

hi i was the one that asked what mets meant thankfully got answer. but i was so confused by all the abbreviations people use that i felt stupid sp yes please get it started whoever can and i can join in more thanks
julie

Try this link for some terms

breastcancercare.org.uk/content.php?page_id=74

Margaret

LOL - Laugh out loud ( I thought is was Lots of Love just shows the need for this thread!

Carol

Oh dear - it can mean lots of love too - otherwise I am going to look really stupid if people think I have been laughing at them LOL!

What about just bringing back the good old fashioned English language?

Love K