tropical moments/hot flushes getting me down...

Hi Ladies, Anyone out there suffering from almost unbearable hot flushes? I am 46 and mine started around 1 month after my first fec,after chemo finished i started tamoxifen and the sweats are really getting me down.I dont feel as though i can live a normal life,Im having at least 15 during the day some more severe than others,i work as a receptionist in a beauty salon and my make up has sweated off before 11am.lol. At night im suffering 5or6 a night and therefore i am really tired.Is this usual with tamoxifen or should i see my gp?Also any tips would be greatly appreciated.x

Mine aren’t as bad as yours, but they are stopping me sleeping as I am tossing around throwing the covers off and feeling agitated. Then during the day it feels like I have 'flu - the sort of hot you get from that. I feel as if everyone must be able to see my face going red, but my skin doesn’t feel hot even though I think it is. I’ve tried taking my pills at different times of the day, I"ve tried drinking more water, less fat, more fruit etc. But the one thing that does make a difference for me is stopping tea. I tried it over two days and the result was very quick (I also tried de-caf tea, but that didn’t make a difference). I LOVE tea and so go without it, then allow myself a cup and live with the consequences. It is best for me to have it in the morning (I take my tamoxifen at 5pm)

I also read here (about 6 months ago) that someone was told that tea and tamoxifen should be kept well away from each other. I wonder if it is the tannin (not the caffeine) as I can still drink coffee in moderation.

Anyone else have any thoughts?

Annie

Hi I have been getting really bad hot flushes as well but my cancer was TN so not on hormone tablets!! Periods stopped after 1st chemo and haven’t returned finished in Sept I am 48 so assuming have been pushed into early menopause??? Is there anything doctor can do as I hadn’t thought about going to see GP.