Trying to keep calm

I found a hard lump in my left breast on Friday on my way down to Cornwall for the weekend. Now I’m waiting for 8.30am when I can ring the GP to be seen. I’ve been reading your posts all weekend and have finally taken the plunge despite wondering if doing so is just tempting fate. Although I read that most lumps are benign, my mum died 10 years after battling with breast cancer and part of me thinks that I’ve just been waiting for it to happen. My OH thinks I’ll be fine but he just doesn’t want me to worry even though we all know that doesn’t work. I’m also an expert worrier. I have so many questions. Should I go back to work today after the appointment. I only have 13 weeks sick pay so shouldn’t fritter it away. I’m due to go to Tenerife with my dad in 3 weeks time, will my insurance cover if I can’t make it? I’m the main earner in the family, how will I maintain the mortgage. I hate needles and hospitals, and don’t want to get an infection if I have to stay there. That’s enough for now. Too many questions and no answers yet. Need to get ready for my phone call now. Good luck to anyone else needing to be brave today x

Hi Emmard

Welcome to the forums, I am sure your fellow users will be along with support and in addition you may find it helpful to call our helpline where you can talk things over with one of our team. The lines are open weekdays 9-5 and Sat 9-2 on 0808 800 6000

Take care
Lucy

Hi Emmard
So sorry to hear you’re going through this worry. I remember being in the same position as you in 2007 and just being so scared and worried. In terms of taking time off work, I know right now your head is all over the place so it’s hard to think straight and rationally however if you need to take today off, then maybe it’s for the best. I took the day off after I visited the doctor with my lump and then went to work the next day. Wishing you all the best of luck for your appointment this morning. Please do let me know how you get on.
Hugs