Tubular bells (I mean cells!)

Does anyone know anything about tubular cancer? Looby x

Hi loobytuesday - I’m new to all this BC business but have looked on net - apparently very rare 1 per cent. It’s called tubular cause of the shape of cells. Apparently a good (if there is one) to have, doesn’t usually involve lymph nodes and unlikely recurrence. Hope this is a bit of help.

Tracey xxxxxxx

Hi Lobby,

Gosh you do mirror me!!

I’ve had a tubular bc removed in May 7mm. I’ve looked up loads of research, in nhs profession and daughter a medical student. It’s quite rare and very treatable. They used not to treat it but found some women died from secondaries so they had to treat it. This was because they said that it was very slow growing. I had my first mammo year last Jan and it wasn’t seen then and pick up this April, so I don’t call that slow!

Bcn and breast surgeon said it was the best one to have if you are going to have bc. Quite frankly I’d rather not it at all!! Onc has been very kind and not reflected any opinion.
Still to have all the follow ups as the breast surgeon said to me that once you have had bc, you are more prone to have another! Oh joy! So I’m having all the treatment offered. He also said that recurrance of same type of tumour was less than dying suddenly - I think he was trying to reassure me but reading this he sounded as though he was full of gloom and doom. I don’t really want to have or do either.

I hope that this is helpful.

Hi Jo

We are twins! Mine was dx 18 June (first mammogram, one month after 50) and they said 7mm Removed 3rd July 12mm. Still small but I read that it is only good because tubular is usually dx when small and size for size it may be worse than ordinary ductal. Can’t understand all the scientific stuff and there doesn’t seem to be much about it in layman’s terms. I gather that it rarely travels out of the breast. Did you feel a lump or have a routine mammogram?