Vital organ damage with radiotherapy

Hi everyone. I am just about to start radiotherapy, but have been scared to find out that there will be some lung and possibly heart damage (depending on its size and I haven’t been measured yet) which is permanent. Is this damage likely to cause problems say with respiration later (I’m 51 now) or say energy levels/ stamina. At present I am a professional singer, so the thought of my lung and possibly my heart being damaged are very worrying. Am I worrying needlessly? Would a mastectomy be a better option? PS. I am not worried about the cosmetic effect of losing a breast>

Hi Allegra,

It’s not a case of “there will be” rather “there may be”. I did not suffer any problems. I was told that any side effects, which may occur, are usually temporary. There may be a small risk of long-term or late permanent effects but such side effects are rarely severe. I would say that you are worrying unnecessarily but I understand why.

Margaret x

Hi Allegra

After a lumpectomy I was found not to have clear margins and (after chemo) was offered 35 radiotherapy sessions or a mastectomy. I plumped for mastectomy without reconstruction and have never regretted it. You could speak to your surgeon about this and see if it is an option.

In 1990, I was diagnosed with cancer in right breast and had a lumpectomy plus radiotherapy at Chrisities. I then had further diagnoses in 2002, treated by surgery and chemotherapy but no further radiotherapy. A year later, I noticed I had a wheeze in my chest which an xray showed to be damage to my right lung from radiotherapy. I was so relieved that it wasn’t lung metatases that I did not pursue this further but a CT scan in December this year has shown that I have permanent scarring to my right lung from the radiotherapy in 1990.