what to ask at follow up apt after surgery?

Hello ladies ( and any men here too)

I was diagnosed late november with HER2 ER+ IDC grade 2. had lumpectomy on 3rd jan including sentinel node biopsy. Have got my follow up appointment this coming wednesday.

i was wondering if anyone here can advise what questions they asked (or wish they’d asked with hindsight) at their follow up appointments. (Ten years ago i had a laparoscopy to diagnose and treat endometriosis and the endometriosis forum was great, lots of tips on what to ask after your laparoscopy etc, which I wouldnt have thought of). i will of course ask about the staging and whether lymph nodes re clear etc.

i have been told i will probably have herceptin and chemotherapy. i am particularly interested to hear from anyone who declined chemotherapy and chose other methods of treatment. i dont fully understand why chemotherapy is used if tests show that surgery has removed all the cancer. i am still new to all this. 

i am 41 with 3 children (8, 5 and 3).

i am seeing a herbalist for treatment with herbs, having acupuncture and seeing a nutritionist tomorrow (at the london Haven), have already made changes to my diet and feel much better for it.

thanks in advance for any advice.

carolyn, east london

Hi Carolyn,

Hopefully someone will now see your post and answer your questions.  Could I suggest that you also post in the Going through treatment forum where you will probably get more replies.  I’ve put you the link below.

forum.breastcancercare.org.uk/t5/Going-through-treatment/ct-p/going_through_treatment

Also, if you would like to give your freefone helpline a call, the staff will be only too happy to talk to you about your treatment plans.  0808 800 6000 lines open Mon-Fri 9-5 and Sat 10-2.

Take care.

Jo, Moderator

Hi  Kerelene,