Work and a medical.

Work and a medical.

Work and a medical. I am in a bit of a state with being asked to attend a Occupational Health interview and medical because i havent worked since diagnosis in Oct.

I had a lumpectomy in Nov and mastectomy in Dec and am now having chemo.

As i work in a nursery the doctor gave me a sick note and said no way could i go to work as i was at great risk of infection.

I can’t see why i need a interview and a medical and the thought of it is addin to my worries.

the manager said everyone is treated the same no matter whether they have been off with a sore throat for 3 weeks or this, and they may make me to go back to work.
I think its pressure for me to quit whihc is horrible.

Anyone know where i stand legally etc.

Distressed
Ruth

Hi Ruth Sorry to hear you’re so distressed. I’m no expert on employment law, but there have been a couple of threads running (one in After treatment has finished, I think) about the Disability Discrimination Act and the protection it now offers to people diagnosed with cancer. I’m about to go out, so haven’t time to look back through the threads for the details, but it might be worth your spending a bit of time trying to find them. Adele is the person who first posted the topic and hopefullyshe will see your query and be able to help you.

Good luck
Kathy xxx

Hi Ruth Hello there Ruth,
I think that your meeting with occ health is standard practice within many companies and goverment bodies. The interveiw is to see how you are getting on, and to give them and you the chance to discuss your phased return to work, by that I mean that if and when you’re ready to go back you can all know what hours you’ll be doing.