Indent in breast - any advice?x

Hi all, 

I’m new to this so hope I’m posting in the right place! 
I phoned my GP yesterday with concerns about my breast - I recently noticed a small indent (as if someone jabbed me with their finger and it stayed) in my right breast. I can’t feel any lumps myself and I don’t think I have any particular pain, though I do feel slightly more ‘aware’ of my breast, though I know this could possibly be in my head. Other than the dent, there are no skin changes and the dent disappears when I raise my arms.

I described this to my doctor and without seeing me (I assume due to Covid-19) he has referred me to a breast clinic. I haven’t had the call/ letter for an appointment yet but I’m worried sick! I just wondered if anyone has had a similar experience or if breast indents can ever be benign? The internet is a scary place right now!!

For reference I’m 26 years old with no family history but I know this doesn’t make it impossible!

Hi CS1994, and welcome to the Breast Cancer Now Forum. I hope you find useful information and support here!

You sound concerned about the dent in your breast. I wonder if speaking to our nursing team would help address your concerns while you wait to hear from the breast clinic.

You can reach us on freephone 0808 800 6000 (Mon-Fri 9am-4pm; Sat 9am-1pm). The team is very friendly, and always happy to chat about anything that’s on your mind.

Sending our love

Bernard

I just wanted to hop back on here in case anyone finds this thread in their searches!

I went for my breast clinic appointment today and all clear :slightly_smiling_face:

I had a scan and a doctor have a good feel and they came to the conclusion that it’s caused by thin breast tissue and the rib on my right side poking out slightly more, essentially further wearing away at the breast tissue over time.

They did make a point though of telling me that this of course CAN be a sign of BC and that a lot of people don’t necessarily check for this.